SpinningYarnsOnline.com’s Blog

July 28, 2008

Summer Knitting or Not

Filed under: Life — by SpinningYarnsOnline @ 6:34 am

Summer is always a favorite time of mine.  Although I am not a big fan of excessive heat or sweating, I particularly enjoy my life during the summer.  My girls go to a really cool camp where they take day trips one week and then go away the next week.  When I first sent my older daughter to this travel camp a few years ago I spent a lot of time wondering, “What kind of idiot parent puts their 9 year old kid on a bus for a 3 day trip to Philadelphia or Washington D.C.??”  I was a nervous wreck but the camp is extremely well run and is staffed with experienced Unit Directors and great counselors.  My daughter came home having had a wonderful time and I (of course) had wasted a ton of energy worrying.  This is the second year that both my girls are going to this great travel camp.  My older daughter left at 6:30 this morning for a week long adventure and my younger daughter gets picked up in a little while for 3 days of sun and fun.  Awesome!

So what have I been doing with my abundance of time (besides dyeing, packing and sending yarn to people…)?  Well, I haven’t been doing too much knitting.  I have been working on a pair of socks for my younger brother but they have been relegated to the back burner for now.  Instead, I have been working on these:

Sorry for the lousy pictures, I was having some camera issues.  These are  two crochet blankets that I am working on.  The top one is particularly uninteresting.  It is being crocheted out of Utopia which is an acrylic yarn (I know, you are all shaking with disgust).  I needed something that was washable and indestructible and the Utopia was on super major sale so I thought I would give it a try.  It’s okay to work with but I am not a huge acrylic fan so I am trying to make myself like it.  The second blanket is much more fun.  I saw on a blog that I like to read that a knitter had decided to take her incredibly large stash of sock yarn and crochet it into this awesome blanket/bedspread.  I was so inspired that I decided to do the same with my embarrassingly enormous stash of sock yarn.  I love sock yarn.  (That’s one of the reasons I decided to open an online shop.)  I had amassed quite a collection of various yarns and realized that there would be no humanly possible way to knit them all into socks.   When I saw this blanket on FluffyKnitterDeb’s blog I decided that this is what I must do with all this sock yarn.  It is not going to win any awards for being the most beautiful piece of crochet but it will definitely add some serious color to where ever it ends up once it is finished.  It is a fun, mindless crochet and I am thoroughly enjoying it.

Eventually I will finish my brother’s socks.  It’s too warm to wear wool socks in the summer anyway.  I figure by the time the weather gets cold in Mass. where he lives, I’ll have them done.

So what are you all working on this summer?  I’d love to hear all about it.

1 Comment »

  1. This summer I also put my daughter into a camp, a day one and she loves it. I have spent the time doing some knitting on socks, a kit of the Plisse’ cardi, a sweater for my DH, and several other projects. Of course – at the moment – I am obsessed with a special skein that is being knit into Monkey socks. . . wonder where that came from? LOL

    Comment by Shell — July 29, 2008 @ 5:06 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

